Word Medicine

Writing and Healing: exploring the art of healing and the healing of art

For September 4th: Finding Solace in a Spiritual Practice September 5, 2016

Filed under: Writing and Healing — saratbaker @ 2:55 pm

Lovely and true. I like that you start your writing with small observations, a way of connecting to the world and self.

Writing Through Cancer

And we pray, not
for new earth or heaven, but to be
quiet in heart, and in eye
clear.  What we need is here.

From:  “The Wild Geese,” by Wendell Berry

Throughout my childhood and undergraduate years, I was active in the Methodist church, involved in the youth groups and later, in the Methodist Student Movement, which was very involved in civil rights and social justice.  Some of my most enduring friendships were formed during that period, but for the better part of my adult life,  I’ve been a lapsed church-goer, craving a deeper spiritual practice than I experienced in the Sunday morning services.   For years, I dabbled with other religious traditions, tried practicing meditation, but nothing seemed to fill my need for the spiritual life I once knew.

Ironically, I’ve led workshops with the bereaved and the terminally ill, and in all of them, one’s faith and spirituality are…

View original post 1,356 more words

 

One Response to “For September 4th: Finding Solace in a Spiritual Practice”

  1. Sara Baker is a beautiful writer and instructor at the Loran Smith Cancer Center for recovering cancer patients…Sara co=author of a marvelous short read,”A communion of sort” Written by cancer victim and care givers..Please give it a read..it will make you understand the dreadful disease that affects everyone.

    Like


Leave a Reply

